Canada Employment and Immigration Commission (Employment and Immigration Canada). The Employment and Immigration Reorganization Act — Part I, the Employment and Immigration Department and Commission Act (SC 1976-77, c.54) passed in August 1977 created the Canada Employment and Immigration Commission by integrating the former Unemployment Insurance Commission and the former Department of Manpower and Immigration. The legislation also created the Department of Employment and Immigration which provides services to the commission.

The employment and insurance objective of the commission is to further the attainment of national economic and social goals by realizing the full productive potential of Canada's human resources, while supporting the initiatives of individuals to pursue their economic needs and, more generally, their self-

fulfilment through work.

The immigration objective of the commission is to administer the admission of immigrants in accordance with the economic, social and cultural interests of Canada.

Canada Labour Relations Board. Established under the authority of the Canada Labour Code Part V (RSC 1970, c.L-1), this board administers provisions of the code with respect to workers in industries under federal jurisdiction. It consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, an additional vice-chairman where considered advisable by the Governor-in-Council and not less than four or more than eight other members.

Canadian Arsenals Limited (Arsenals Canada). The principal function of this Crown corporation is to operate government-owned facilities for the production of certain defence material and other complementary items. It was established under the Companies Act in September 1945, and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1970, c.G-7) and certain provisions of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10), It reports to Parliament through the minister of supply and services.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The CBC is a Crown corporation established by an act of Parliament in 1936, replacing an earlier public broadcasting agency, the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission, created in 1932. The Broadcasting Act of 1968 (RSC 1970, c.B-11) describes the CBC as "established by Parliament for the purpose of providing the national broadcasting service".

The corporation has a president and 14 other directors appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The president is the chief executive officer. The executive vice-president is appointed by the corporation on the recommendation of the president and with the approval of the Governor-in-Council. He is responsible to the president for the management of broadcasting operations in accordance with corporation policies.

CBC operations are financed by public funds voted annually by Parliament, with supplementary revenue obtained from commercial advertising. The CBC's accounts are audited annually by the auditor general of Canada and the corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

Canadian Commercial Corporation. This corporation, wholly owned by the Government of Canada, was established in 1946 by an act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.C-6) to assist in the development of trade between Canada and other nations. The corporation may act either as the principal or agent in the import or export of goods and commodities to or from Canada.

Under this broad charter, it acts primarily as the contracting agency when other countries and international agencies wish to purchase from Canada on a government-to-government basis.

Management and staff are provided by the supply and services department, which is responsible for the central procurement of goods and related services for all Canadian government departments and agencies. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of supply and services.

Canadian Consumer Council (Consumer Council Canada). The council was established in 1968 (RSC 1970, c.C-27) to advise the minister of consumer and corporate affairs on all facets of consumerism. It meets with the minister three or four times a year and consists of members representing all segments of the population and all areas of Canada.

Canadian Council on Rural Development (Council on Rural Development Canada). This council was established in 1965 under authority of the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (RSC 1970, c.A-4) and now reports to the minister of regional economic expansion. In advising the minister on rural development problems and issues, the council provides a forum for the expression of views by organizations and persons sharing its concerns and, in general, facilitates public understanding of rural development needs and programs. Its membership, maximum 40, is made up of representatives from about 20 national organizations and individuals with rural and regional development expertise. The council meets three times a year in plenary session, but its four regional and other committees meet more frequently. Members are served by a secretariat drawn from the public service.

Canadian Dairy Commission. This commission, which reports to Parliament through the minister of agriculture, was established in December 1966 (RSC 1970, c.C-7) to provide efficient producers of milk and